Completely Overwhelmed - Where do I start.

Forum for discussion of topics that don't fit into any other category

Moderator: spamkiller

Completely Overwhelmed - Where do I start.

Post by antsplan » Mon Sep 22, 2008 11:52 am

Hi all, this post is to firstly introduce myself - I'm Anthony from Glasgow, Scotland.

Secondly to say what an amazing resource this and thanks for having me as a member.

But thirdly to say I'm completely overwhelmed by the amount of information available and really need a few pointers on where to begin.

Some background, I am an amateur shooter mostly interested in landscape photography. I shoot a Nikon D300 with various lenses and have recently just purchased a Manfrotto 303 SPH.

The technical side of Pano photography so far has been a steep learning curve for me but fairly confident I had found the nodal point/entrance pupil for my D300/50mm f1.8 lens (according to the instructions in the Manf manual), I stepped out and shot a few images a few nights ago. I think I'll need to refine this.

I'm bitterly disappointed with the results to be honest, I screwed up and allowed the camera to set shutter speed and WB, so I ended up with problem areas in my image.

I dont have any Pano software so d/l a trial of Panoramamaker which I think worked fairly well. I have also d/l a trial of PTGui and the auto function also seemed to work ok.

Before I go spending yet more cash I can't afford can someone give me an idea of the best software (easiest to use and best results - LOL) that I should look at.

For the first pano I shot 27 images (a little optimistic I know) and tried to stitch them via CS3, in the end I had to settle for the middle row of 9 images as CS3 creaked at the seems with even the 9.

And yet i see people are making HDR Panoramics ?!?!?!?